Malawi has a new President. He is His Excellency, Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera and was declared winner together with Dr. Saulos Chilima his running mate and Vice-President by the Malawi Electoral Commission on Saturday 27 June 2020. They have both been sworn in today Sunday, 28 June 2020.

The new President defeated the outgoing President Peter Mutharika with 58.57% of the vote in polls held on 23 rd June 2020.

Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera was born on 5 April 1955. He is a Malawian theologian and politician.  He has been leader of the Malawi Congress Party, Malawi’s main opposition party since 2013. He was previously Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly.


H.E.Mr Leonard Mengezi

High Commissioner

Profile Profile Profile